01841 533804 

 

Woman In The Photograph

£8.99

Veronica Moon, a junior photographer on a local paper in an Essex town, is frustrated. She never gets good assignments, and no one takes her seriously. And then she visits the picket line at Ford’s Dagenham factory. At the front line of the fight for equal pay for women workers she meets Leonie – a privileged, angry activist, ahead of her time and prepared to fight for equality with everything she has. Veronica is captivated. She breaks off her engagement and moves to London with Leonie to begin a game-changing career and an intoxicating friendship.

In stock

SKU: 9781785768965 Category: Tags: ,

Description

An empowering, thought-provoking feminist novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon.1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues’ failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham. So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship. Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women’s equality with everything she has. She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change.Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life. Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century.Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie’s niece. Long-repressed memories of Veronica’s extraordinary life begin to stir. It’s time to break her silence, and step back into the light.Praise for The Woman in the Photograph:’Imaginative and moving novel – a must-read for any feminist’Katie Fforde’I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph, a compelling,original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships’Sarah Franklin’What a glorious combination: Stephanie’s warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism. I ate the book up’Shelley Harris’Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality’Carys Bray’Brilliantly researched, thought-provoking, and written straight from the heart, this is undoubtedly Butland’s best book yet’Lancashire Evening Post

Additional information

Weight 0.281 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2.1 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

365

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K