01841 533804 

 

The Songs

£8.99

Iz Herzl, renowned political activist and protest singer, has always said that you should concentrate on the future, not the past. Now aged 80, a reclusive figure holed up in Muswell Hill, Iz’s refusal to reflect on his life leaves his teenage children, maths wunderkind Rose and her dying brother Huddie, adrift in myth and uncertainty. Iz doesn’t talk about his other child, Joseph, a West End songwriter whom Rose and Huddie have never met. Joseph’s single, disastrous encounter with his father many years earlier set him on a violent path to self destruction. Now he tries to impose order on his chaotic world with rhyme, transforming traumatic events into song. As the scattered children of Iz Herzl begin to converge, the ambiguities at the heart of their father’s life start to surface in a way that will change them all.

In stock

SKU: 9781408882344 Category: Tags: ,

Description

From the bestselling author of Mr Toppit, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick, comes a riotous, darkly comic story of siblings searching for the truth about their musician father – for fans of The Rosie Project, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The HumansIz Herzl, renowned political activist and protest singer, has always refused to dwell on the past. Now eighty, he sits in his house in Muswell Hill, while his lovers – some past, some present – dance attendance upon him. Downstairs, Iz’s children – teenage maths wunderkind Rose, and her dying brother Huddie – spend their days picking through the myths and secrecy that have always swirled around their unknowable father. But Iz can’t keep the past at bay forever. Into their lives comes Joseph: his first child, whom Rose and Huddie have never met. And his arrival will change things in ways that Rose and Huddie could never have anticipated?

Additional information

Weight 0.224 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2 cm
Author

Publisher
Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

293

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K