The Silence

£8.99

Longlisted for the New Blood Dagger Award 2021

‘A darkly gripping and addictive read. I tore through it in a few days’ ESTHER FREUD

‘Deeply engrossing ? an exquisite literary thriller’ PHILIPPA EAST

‘Emotionally wrenching’ WALL STREET JOURNAL

‘Impossible to put down’ TREVOR WOOD

In stock

SKU: 9780008361341 Category: Tags: ,

Description

Longlisted for the New Blood Dagger Award 2021

‘A darkly gripping and addictive read. I tore through it in a few days’ ESTHER FREUD

‘Deeply engrossing ? an exquisite literary thriller’ PHILIPPA EAST

‘Emotionally wrenching’ WALL STREET JOURNAL

‘Impossible to put down’ TREVOR WOOD

A missing woman

30 years ago, in the suffocating heat of a Sydney summer, the Greens’ next-door neighbour Mandy disappeared without a trace.

A cold case reopened

In 1997, in a basement flat in Hackney, Isla Green is awakened by a call in the middle of the night: her father is under suspicion of Mandy’s murder.

A devastating secret

How well does Isla know her father? Is he capable of doing something terrible? And is there another secret in their community – a conspiracy of silence which stretches deep into Australia’s past?

——————————

‘An atmospheric, convincing portrayal of the way that the decisions we make, both individually and collectively, reverberate down the years’ GUARDIAN

‘Allott uses the scandal of Australia’s stolen children to devastating effect in this memorable debut’ SUNDAY TIMES

‘A riveting mystery, beautifully unwound. The Silence excavates dark, decades-old secrets buried in human hearts, in families and in nations. I read it in one weekend’ ERIN KELLY

‘An impressive and beautifully written, Australian-set debut with the devastating subject of the Stolen Generation at its core’ FIONA MITCHELL

‘Tense, atmospheric and brilliantly paced. The Silence is fraught with disturbing secrets and powerful emotions. I loved it’ FRANCESCA JAKOBI

‘A brooding, suspenseful debut’ SUNDAY MIRROR

‘A suspenseful, beautifully crafted debut for fans of Celeste Ng and Jane Harper’ TELEGRAPH AUSTRALIA

‘Intricate and suspenseful? [a] stellar debut’ NEW YORK JOURNAL OF BOOKS

Additional information

Weight 0.27 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

371

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K