01841 533804  

The Leviathan

£14.99

Norfolk, 1643. With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father. By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft. Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before. Something has awoken, and now it will not rest.

Out of stock

SKU: 9781526637338 Category: Tags: , ,

Description

THE INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERSELECTED AS ONE OF THE OBSERVER’S 10 BEST DEBUT NOVELISTS OF 2022‘It’s hard to believe that such an accomplished novel could be a debut – The Leviathan is a gloriously dark story that sweeps you along to its harrowing yet satisfying conclusion. Superb’ Susan Stokes-Chapman, number one bestselling author of Pandora‘Darkly compelling and dripping with atmosphere… bewitching’ Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FAMILIARSA beguiling tale of superstition, myth and murder, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Essex Serpent and Once Upon a River.SHE IS AWAKE…Norfolk, 1643. With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father. By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft.Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before.Something has awoken, and now it will not rest.Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political and religious turbulence. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding mystery and a story of impossible things.‘Outstanding… a seething, haunting delight’ Beth Underdown, award-winning author of THE WITCHFINDER’S SISTER‘Thoroughly gripping and utterly absorbing’ Jennifer Saint, author of ARIADNE

Additional information

Weight 0.608 kg
Dimensions 23.4 × 15.3 × 3.2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

320

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K