01841 533804  

 

The Ghost of Gosswater

£6.99

The Earl of Gosswater has died, and Agatha has been cast out of her ancestral home by her cruel cousin, Clarence. In a tiny tumbledown cottage, she struggles to adjust to her new life. And on the shores of Gosswater Lake, the spirit of another young girl will not rest …

In stock

Description

 

A thrilling Gothic tale from the author of Our Castle by the Sea, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize.

‘Told in deft and luminous language, The Ghost of Gosswater is storytelling at its very best.’ Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE GIRL OF INK & STARS

‘Family secrets, a ghost girl and a forbidding manor house that goes up in smoke … You can’t help rooting for Agatha in this spooky, addictive tale of friendship and family.’ THE TIMES

‘Eerie, shimmering, unputdownable’ HILARY MCKAY, winner of the Costa Book Award

The Lake District, 1899

The Earl is dead and cruel Cousin Clarence has inherited everything.

Twelve-year-old Lady Agatha Asquith is cast out of Gosswater Hall to live in a tiny, tumbledown cottage with a stranger who claims to be her father.

Aggie is determined to discover her real identity, but she is not alone on her quest for the truth.

On the last day of the year, when the clock strikes midnight, a mysterious girl of light creeps through the crack in time; she will not rest until the dark, terrible secrets of the past have been revealed …

  • The third novel by acclaimed bestselling author Lucy Strange, author of The Secret of Nightingale Wood and Our Castle by the Sea
  • A thrilling gothic adventure for young readers aged 9 and up – perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Frances Hardinge
  • Follows strong-willed heroine Agatha Gosswater as she untangles the dark mystery of her own past, with the backdrop of the eerie Gosswater Lake

Additional information

Weight 0.25 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 13.5 × 2.3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

310

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Ages 5-12 / Code: B