01841 533804 

 

The Crow Folk

£8.99

The extraordinary coming-of-age novel about life, love, war and magic – Maisie Dobbs meets The Magicians (with a helping of Terry Pratchett!)
 

In stock

SKU: 9781471197970 Category: Tags: , ,

Description

‘A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age’Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window

‘Extremely funny, full of imagination, verve and typical English ‘home counties’ wit and if you like Dad’s Army (who doesn’t?), you’ll love it’Irish Independent 

As Spitfires roar overhead and a dark figure stalks the village of Woodville, a young woman will discover her destiny . . .

Faye Bright always felt a little bit different. And today she’s found out why. She’s just stumbled across her late mother’s diary which includes not only a spiffing recipe for jam roly-poly, but spells, incantations, runes and recitations . . . a witch’s notebook.

And Faye has inherited her mother’s abilities. 

Just in time, too. The Crow Folk are coming. Led by the charismatic Pumpkinhead, their strange magic threatens Faye and the villagers. Armed with little more than her mum’s words, her trusty bicycle, the grudging help of two bickering old ladies, and some aggressive church bellringing, Faye will find herself on the front lines of a war nobody expected.

For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes this delightful novel of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . .

Praise for THE CROW FOLK

‘Swept me straight back to days of losing myself in Diana Wynne Jones novels, and getting lost in truly absorbing, sometimes scary, sometimes emotive adventure with its roots in folklore and history. A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age’Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window

‘Stay has brewed a cracking blend of charm and creepiness in The Crow Folk. A rip-roaring tale of bravery and witchcraft on the wartime home front, expertly told with lashings of wit and warmth’Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World  ? 

 ‘A delightful mash-up of Dad’s Army and Charmed. An absolute treat’CK McDonnell, author of Stranger Times

‘Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you’re always guaranteed a magical read’Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries
 
‘You’ll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel GummidgeLorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village
 
‘A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad’s Army meets Witches of EastwickIan W Sainsbury

Praise for MARK STAY and BACK TO REALITY

‘Heartwarming, inventive, and funny. Like if Nick Hornby wrote a time travel, body swap adventure!’-New York Times bestselling author Mimi Strong

?’A compelling story where the comedy compliments the drama and keeps you turning the page? A delight’Caimh McDonnell, bestselling author of The Dublin Trilogy

‘I LOVE IT! It’s Back to the Future meets Freaky Friday’ -#1 Kindle bestselling author of Hot Mess, Lucy Vine

‘If you love time travel and rock and roll, you’ll love this book!’ -Julie Cohen, author of Together

Sliding Doors meets Back to the Future in a story to make you sing with joy’ -Karen Ball, Speckled Pen

‘A magnificent book! Loved every page. Beautifully written’ -Callan McAuliffe, actor The Walking Dead

Doctor Who meets Freaky Friday at Glastonbury. With added cow. Escapist SF fun for everyone who wants to scratch their Terry Pratchett itch’Ian W Sainsbury, Winner of the Kindle Storyteller Award 2019

‘A miraculous, laugh-out-loud journey to a past never lived. Original and captivating!’Keith A Pearson

Additional information

Weight 0.25 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 13 × 2.1 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

400

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K