01841 533804 

 

The Country of Others

£14.99

Alsace, 1944. Mathilde finds herself falling deeply in love with Amine Belhaj, a Moroccan soldier billeted in her town fighting for the French. After the Liberation, Mathilde leaves her country to follow her new husband to Morocco. But life here is unrecognisable to this brave and passionate young woman. Suffocated by the heat of the Moroccan climate, by her loneliness on the farm, by the mistrust she inspires as a foreigner and by their lack of money, Mathilde grows restless. As violence broods and Morocco’s own struggle for independence grows daily, Mathilde and Amine’s refusal to take sides sees them and their family at odds with their own desire for freedom. How can Mathilde – a woman whose life is dominated by the decisions of men – hold her family together in a world that is being torn apart?

In stock

Description

‘A panoramic, ambitious tale.’ The Times
‘Exceptional.’ Salman Rushdie
‘Powerful.’ Christine Mangan
‘Captivating.’ Elle

1944. After the Liberation, Mathilde leaves France to join her husband in Morocco.

But life here is unrecognisable to this brave and passionate young woman. Her life is now that of a farmer’s wife – with all the sacrifices and vexations that brings. Suffocated by the heat, by her loneliness on the farm and by the mistrust she inspires as a foreigner, Mathilde grows increasingly restless.

As Morocco’s struggle for independence intensifies, Mathilde and her husband find themselves caught in the crossfire.

From the internationally bestselling author, The Country of Others is perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante, Tracy Chevalier, and Maggie O’Farrell.

Additional information

Weight 0.445 kg
Dimensions 21.6 × 13.5 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

315

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

843.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K