01841 533804  

Not Safe for Work

£16.99

You are young, ambitious, college-educated and a feminist. Your new job is in television. To climb the ranks, you do whatever it takes:- Pull all-nighters – Lean on your powerful mother’s contacts – Stay in shape at cult-like fitness classes – Secretly wear your boss’s fitbit to improve his stepcount – and his temper. You know the rules of this world. When someone senior tells you how pretty you look, you smile and thank him – and make a mental note never to wear that dress alone with him again. When whispers start to circle that your office might have ‘a bit of a rape problem,’ and your close friend confesses her own unsettling encounter, you know there is plenty to gain from staying silent, and all too much to lose through speaking out. And of course, you know your own boss is one of the good guys – don’t you?

Out of stock

SKU: 9780241537244 Category: Tag:

Description

The compulsively readable novel about a young woman trying to succeed in Hollywood without selling her soul – perfect for fans of Sweetbitter, My Dark Vanessa and Exciting Times

‘Glittering. A funny, spiky, compulsive story about toxic workplaces, lean-in culture and #MeToo’ EVENING STANDARD

‘A frank study of the psychological, and at times literal, gymnastics that are required of striving women’ RAVEN LEILANI, bestselling author of LUSTER

‘A blistering look at the hidden side of Hollywood’ GLAMOUR, ‘BEST NEW BOOKS’

‘Frank, funny and unputdownable’ CLAIRE MESSUD
________

You are a young, ambitious, college-educated feminist. And you’ve just landed a job in television.

To climb the ranks, you do whatever it takes:
– Pull all-nighters
– Lean on your powerful mother’s contacts
– Stay in shape at cult-like fitness classes
– Secretly wear your boss’s fitbit to improve his step count – and his temper

You know the rules of this world. When someone senior tells you how pretty you look, you smile and thank him – and make a mental note never to wear that dress alone with him again.

When rumours of an assault start to circle the office, and your close friend confesses her own disturbing experience, you know there is plenty to gain from staying silent.

And all too much to lose through speaking out.

Besides, you know your boss is one of the good guys . . . don’t you?
________

‘An intoxicating exploration of male-dominated workplaces . . . NSFW is gripping’ TIME

‘Ambition bites back . . . So visceral is the narrator’s voice that every time I opened the book felt like sliding into uncomfortable heels. Brave’ New York Times

Longlisted for the Center for Fiction Prize

Additional information

Weight 0.392 kg
Dimensions 22.2 × 14.4 × 2.7 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

400

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K