01841 533804 

 

New York Trilogy

£8.99

Paul Auster’s three stories explore the nature of identity. He uses the detective, spy and friendship genres as vehicles to delve into the relationships between different groups of people.

This book is not in stock at the moment, normal delivery is two to three days

Description

The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America’s most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader.

‘Marks a new departure for the American novel.’ Observer

‘A shatteringly clever piece of work . . . Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind.’ Sunday Telegraph

The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett.’ Guardian

Additional information

Weight 0.247 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.6 × 1.9 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

314

Language

English

Edition

Omnibus ed

Dewey

813.54 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K