Kansas In August – Patrick Gale

£8.99

Paperback

In stock (can be backordered)

Description

Patrick Gales KANSAS IN AUGUST is a witty, warm novel of childhood and abandonment for readers of Armistead Maupin and Edmund White Modern, excellent and sympathetic Stephen Fry Musical-obsessed Hilary Metcalfe, abandoned by his lover Rufus on his birthday, gets drunk, discovers a baby and brings it home to his flat above a corner shop to provide comfort and company. Rufus, meanwhile, allows himself to be seduced by a frivolous young woman, who is actually Hilarys professional, high-powered sister, romancing under a pseudonym to escape the reality of her own loneliness. In this witty, bawdy slice of sex and lies, the trio will find themselves drawn together ever more tightly by the lures of hedonism, self-delusion and the inescapable desire to be needed.

Additional information

Published Status

Published

Date Published

18/10/2018