01841 533804 

 

Burial Rites

£8.99

Inspired by a true story, Burial Rites follows the final days of a young woman accused of murder in Iceland in 1829.

In stock

Description

The Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist
The Guardian First Book Award Shortlist
The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Shortlist

Iceland, 1829 Agnes Magnúsdóttir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover.

Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jón Jónsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Tóti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes’s spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes’s story begins to emerge and with it the family’s terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed.

Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we’re told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland’s formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Inspired by a true story, Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

‘Outstanding’ – Madeline Miller

‘Sublime’ – Sunday Telegraph

‘One of the most gripping, intriguing and unique books I’ve read this year’ – Kate Mosse

Additional information

Weight 0.274 kg
Dimensions 19.7 × 13 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

338

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K